The Kalamazoo Valley Family
News Letter

Vol. 2, No. 1         September 1972

Page 51


Trowbridge Township  Village of Hopkins


Trowbridge Township Map
Click on image to enlarge 
   1971 Officials
Rolland R. Lee, Supervisor
Leona McKee, Clerk
Robert Stockdale, Treasurer
Lyle Whisler, Trustee
Amos Watson, Trustee


TROWBRIDGE TOWNSHIP. Pioneers arrived as early as 1835, and the township was organized in 1842, becoming separated from Cheshire township in 1851. It was named in honor of C. C. Trowbridge of Detroit, the popular treasurer of the Boston Company.

Supervisor  Clerk Treasurer
John Weare (1842) Sidney Smith (1842-4) John Billings, Jr. (1842)
Richard Weare (1843) Daniel Foster (1845) G. Y. Warner (1843)
John Billings, Jr. (1844) P. H. Simmons (1846) Walter H. Rood (1844)
Sidney Smith (1845-6) Sidney Smith (1847-8) L. S. Prouty (1845-6)
Jacob Grover (1847) Daniel Foster (1849) H. E. Blackman (1848)
Richard Weare (1848) J. B. Allen (1850) W. Granger (1849-50)
John Billings (1849) G. Rockwell (1851) I. G. Austin (1851)
Leander Prouty (1850) R. Weare (1852) S. Smith (1852)
H. E. Blackman (1851-2) L. S. Prouty (1853) J. Blackman (1853)
 Daniel Foster (1853) J. B. Allen (1854) Sidney Smith (1854)
Alexander Henderson (1854-6) Moses Morris (1855) William Granger (1855)
John Billings (1857) John B. Allen (1856) William Upson (1856)
Alexander Henderson (1858-9) W. Bronson (1857) John W. Russell (1857-8)
John W. Grover (1860-1) A. B. Mallory (1858-64) A. B. Mallory (1859)
H. E. Blackman (1862) J. R. Clifford (1865) William Upson (1860-2)
E. G. Minckler (1863-5) Horace Peck (1866) A. B. Mallory (1863)
John W. Grover (1866) George Grigsby (1867-8) William Upson (1864-5)
E. G. Minckler (1867-71) A. B. Mallory (1869-70) Stephen Odell (1866)
A. B. Mallory (1872) George W. Grigsby (1871-2) William Upson (1867-70)
George W. Grigsby (1873) A. B. Mallory (1873) John W. Russell (1871-5)
Gilbert Phelps (1874) Barney Payne (1874) George W. Grigsby (1876)
E. G. Minckler (1875) A. B. Mallory (1875-7) Edward Buck (1877-8)
H. E. Blackman (1876) S. C. Foster (1878-) A. B. Mallory (1879)
E. G. Minckler (1877-8)    
B. Allen (1879)    

Cleo Todd, President Duane Ewing, Clerk Ellen J. Linsley, Treasurer
Dick Weick, Councilman John Hitt, Jr., Councilman George Schwartz, Councilman
Richard Kerber, Councilman Ruth Hazen, Councilman Irvin Morris, Councilman
Edward Church, Assessor Kenneth Hudson Constable Richard J. Hudson, Attorney



Allegan City Daniel Like Record Hamilton High School Band Photo Martin Township Salem Township
Allegan County History Dann Family Heath Township Martin Village Saugatuck Township
Allegan County Officials Dorr Township Help!! Monterey Township Saugatuck Village
Allegan Township Douglas Village Hopkins Township News Clippings Smile, you've been in Allegan County
Allegan Vacations Drinkwine Bible Record Hopkins Village Nostalgia Anyone Source of the Quarter
Allegan's Oldest Living Graduate Early Marriages Hyder Family History Old Fashioned Trowbridge Township
Biographical Historians Editorial Just so you know Otsego City Valley Township
Casco Township Family Names, and how they came about -"The Dutch" Kalamazoo Library Otsego Township Watson Township
Cheshire Township Fennville City Laketown Township Overisel Township Wayland City
Clyde Township Fillmore Township Lee Township Pioneer Society Wayland Township
County Clerk's Letter Ganges Township Leighton Township Plainwell City  
County Commissioners 1971 Gravestone of a Genealogist? Library References Presbyterians  
Credits and Dedication Gun Plain Township Manlius Township President Message  

Return to Allegan County MIGenWeb Home Page Return To Home Page

USGenWeb Project     MIGenWeb

   All rights reserved.
This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated
in any fashion without my consent.
The information on these pages is meant for personal genealogical
research only and is not for commercial use of any type.

Top of Page